Music to walk to: the first 3 miles

I listen to the same playlist every day when I do the 3 mile walk to or from work. The playlist is optimistically named ‘Driving’. Optimistic (ironic?) since no country on this earth will ever grant me a driving licence. Which is a shame as I do love driving – the independence, the thrill of the open road, the freedom to go wherever you please, free from the rules that normally bind us (turns out there are actually rules, a whole book of them in fact called The Highway Code, hence the reluctance of most authorities to legally endorse my automotive ‘skillz’).

Since I’m quite an OCD type of person, I feel the need to document my playlist in 3-mile chunks on this blog. Part 1 – the first 3 miles:

  • Sex With an X – The Vaselines
  • Baby Did A Bad Bad Thing – Chris Isaak
  • Let’s Get It On – Marvin Gaye
  • Reflections – Diana Ross & The Supremes
  • Baby, I Love You – The Ramones
  • Everyday Is Like Sunday – Morrissey
  • Teenage Kicks – The Undertones
  • Geraldine – Glasvegas
  • My Sharona – The Knack
  • Shake Your Body (Down To The Ground) – MJ
  • It’s Tricky – Run DMC

And the award for the most-loved track from this selection goes to The Ramones for services to music, overly-long fringes, leather jackets and skinny jeans:

More installments to follow…

xx



Leave a comment